Sheila Gallant-Halloran

Made-to-measure travel; please, go away! :-)

Fallin’ for Niagara

My family visited Toronto for the May long weekend, and we made sure to spend a day at Niagara Falls.

And, as no visit to Niagara would be complete without a ride on the Maid of the Mist, we happily obliged (or, at least I did… eventually).

Looking down on the Maid from the lookout overhead, the voyage looks a wee bit scary. Lots of spray, froth, and rough seas… almost enough to stop me (but not my girls, or their cousins, who we met for the day).

But, I eventually gathered my courage, and we made our way to the boat for the tour. Everyone was given blue rain ponchos, and we trekked down to board the ferry. 

It was a lot of fun, and not nearly as rough as it had looked from above.  But it was a surprise how bitingly cold it was (go figure, water spraying in your face isn’t room temp…). The ponchos were terrific in keeping most of the water off us. But what they didn’t cover, got soaked.

It’s safe to say, we were fallin’ for Niagara.

June 15, 2011 - Posted by | Lush Life Destinations

4 Comments »

  1. Hello Sheila,
    Next time, let me know when you visit Niagara Falls. I would be happy to provide suggestions for fun activities.
    All the best,
    Joanne
    MC&IT Director
    Niagara Falls Tourism
    joanne@niagarafallstourism.com

    Comment by Joanne St-Pierre | June 15, 2011 | Reply

    • Hey Joanne – forgot that was your neck of the woods! Sheesh – next time, I’ll give you a call! Hope you are well!

      Comment by Sheila Gallant-Halloran | June 15, 2011 | Reply

  2. Great post Sheila! We’re fallin’ for Niagara this summer and were a little ‘iffy’ about the maid of the midst given the young ages of our kids. Looks like fun was had by your whole family…we’ll likely re-consider and join the team with the blue ponchos. We can’t wait to go!

    Great pics!

    Comment by Maureen | June 15, 2011 | Reply

    • Hey Maureen – thanks for your comment. I think your girls are 3 & 6? My youngest is 5, and the railing is quite high – she could peer through it (gaps), but there was no danger of her falling through at all (and I was plenty worried). I’d recommend it. Course, she was the only one who didn’t get soaked, and frozen – cause I was behind her, and others on top/ sides, she was quite protected. We really enjoyed it. If you need some help with hotels, let me know.

      Comment by Sheila Gallant-Halloran | June 15, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

